Color Me Kafta

I’ve been cooking these bad boys for a few years now.  They are my husband’s favorite dish I cook and he asks for them weekly (channeling my inner Ina Garten again).  We originally had these at an Afghani restaurant and I thought, “Hey, I can make those!”  After a bit of research and trial and error, I’ve put together a killer recipe!

Screen Shot 2018-07-30 at 11.24.34 AM

Ingredients

1/2 pound 90-93% lean ground beef

1/2 pound ground lamb

1/2 finely chopped red onion

1 egg

1/4 cup binding agent (panic, rolled oats, or almond meal)

1/4 cup packed chopped fresh mint

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 lemon juiced

1 Tablespoon Moroccan spice (ground cardamom, allspice, cinnamon, dehydrated garlic and onion, salt, red pepper).  This spice is amazing!  I highly recommend picking some of this up.  You can find it at some health food stores or online.  I stocked up on mine at Sprouts.Screen Shot 2018-07-30 at 11.27.08 AM

Preheat oven to 375.  Spray a drainable pan with some cooking spray.  Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl with your hands!  Get diiiiirty!  Pack mixture and form into 2″ long rolls (yes they kind of look like something gross).  Space out onto drainable pan.  Cook at 375 for 10 minutes or until meat juices start to pour out of kabobs in a grayish-white.  Sprinkle lemon juice over cooked kata before serving.  Best served with some sautéed eggplant, zucchini, and yellow squash.

Leave a comment