Feeling Balanced

Howdy ho, Junior Rangers!  So I’m about a week and half into my new plant-based lifestyle and I’m feeling pretty darn good, ya’ll.  Honestly, it’s not as hard a transition as I thought it’d be.  I also finished my first athletic competition-ish event: The Colorado Tough Mudder Half!  It may not be a big deal for some, but I’ve never even participated in a 5k or anything.  I’m feeling pretty accomplished!  And to top it all off, I’m getting boatloads of sleep and my husband and I are moving to an apartment in the heart of downtown Denver next weekend!  Summer’s shaping up to be a pretty fantastic time!

Vegan-shmeegan

I’m trying not to be one of those annoying hipster folks that eat vegan quinoa salads out of lightbulbs while sipping on the latest kombucha on a patio in a makeshift garage-restaurant.  However, I friggin’ do love kombucha and drink a bottle or half a bottle once a day.  Since eating plant-based foods only, I have noticed that I eat way less!  Perhaps it’s all the fiber in the foods I’m eating.  Speaking of fiber, this diet change has really helped me get “regular” as well (if that’s a problem you face).

I’ve been experimenting with a bunch of different recipes; about half turned out really radical and half barely edible.  What I’ve learned in the past week and a half is to steer clear of recipes that claim they are “Vegan Alfredo” or pretty much anything that is supposed to mimic a cream-based pasta sauce…no bueno.  I did make a lovely beet hummus that I’ve been eating over toast with sliced avocado.  It’s slightly sweet with a lil tartness and is kinda creamy (dammit!).  The recipe is below.  I’ll be trying out some more recipes each week and will be sure to post them.  When eating out, it hasn’t been super difficult, except I have to remember to not get anything that has milk, eggs, or cheese as well.  Most restaurants have a couple vegetarian options and all I have to do is tweak it a bit further.  I did, however, go to a local bakery up in Silverthorne after out Tough Mudder and the only thing I could get was a coffee with almond milk and a banana.  On the plus side, it kept me from eating some sugar-laden baked goods.

*Sidenote!  We went to an Indian restaurant last night and they had so many veggie options!  Just be sure to ask them if a dish is yogurt or cream-based or is cooked with ghee (clarified butter).

IMG_1302

Ro-ro-roast Your Beets Hummus

INGREDIENTS:

4 medium red beets

2 Tbsp tahini (sesame seed paste)

4 Tbsp lemon juice

1-2 cloves garlic

1 Tbsp ground cumin

1 tsp lemon zest

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Peel, cube, and roast beets in the oven at 375 degrees with a drizzle of olive oil.  You can boil instead of roast them if you’d like, but that doesn’t fit the fun name of the recipe…
  2. Combine everything except the olive oil in a food processor or blender and buzz away until near creamy.  Slowly add in the olive oil and give it a few buzzes to combine.  Salt and pepper to your tastes.
  3. Serve with raw veggies as a dip or you can do what I do and slather it on some fresh minimal-ingredient toast with sliced avocado on top.

 

Tough Mudder Half

Our team of four rocked this Mudder!  It was at Copper Mountain Ski Resort.  Although it was super crowded and we had to wait in line for a few of the obstacles, it was still a great time and a pretty fun workout.  Over five miles, which we ran/walked, we completed 13 (or 11, can’t remember) obstacles.  The best one was the Blockness Monster (here’s your visual), where we had to climb into a pit of cold muddy water and together climb over these huge rotating blocks.  Everyone competing (not just our team) helped each other out so that as one group hung on to the block, the other would pull them over.  I forgot about the teamwork part on this obstacle, just hung on to the block as I got pulled over, and slid face first into the water with a big grin on my face like it was a waterslide.  The worst obstacle was the Electroshock Therapy (crazy visuals).  Yup, sounds awful, right?  Our team opted in to this one at the end because we thought it couldn’t be THAT bad.  The obstacle consists of a bunch of live wires hanging down over a big pool of mud with hay bales in the way to block your run.  Our team’s strategy was just to run through as quickly as possible.  So we did, and about halfway through, I got one heck of a jolt and I believe I blacked out and fell into the mud (one of our team members finished before us and told me what appeared to have happened).  I came to a few seconds after submerged in some super sticky and thick mud with everyone cheering me on.  I got up and ran to the finish.  Dangerous?  Totally!  Scared the crap out of me?  Yessir!  Worth it?  Oh yeah!  And a great story to boot!  Our team is planning on  completing the Full Tough Mudder next year, which is 10 miles and more obstacles!

Mudder Finish

In Summation, Good People

Yeah, things are good.  Life is good.  No complaints.  I start back at school soon.  I’ll also be starting a new bootcamp-ish class from July 31st to August 22nd called Camp Gladiator.  It’s a 4-week group fitness camp that meets every Tuesday and Thursday night.  Since we’re moving to downtown Denver, I won’t be going to 24-hour Fitness anymore and will be using the nice gym at our new apartment.  I wanted to try this bootcamp to supplement my at-home workouts.  Good news is I can take more workout/gym pics and post them here if I’m working out alone in my apartment’s gym.

Enjoy the hummus, folks!  HAPPY WEEKEND!  Here are some pics of my bruised hand and legs after the Mudder weekend:

 

2 thoughts on “Feeling Balanced

  1. Judy

    Sounds like you had fun. Ouch to the bruises, I can’t imagine the bruises this old lady would have if I would have done this. My skin is getting so thin (it’s an age thing). It doesn’t take much to bruise or cut.

    I am really excited for you. Sounds like things are going well. And an apartment down town, that is great. My daughter lives on Park Ave and loves it. She walks to work now. See you soon in school.

    Like

    1. seejogogo

      High-five, my paper-thin-skinned friend! I’m in that same boat with ya! Can’t believe we have to go back to school so soon. Glad I’ll get to see your smilin’ face, though! Till then!

      Like

Leave a Reply

