Going Vegan – Hey Yoooo!

So I’m on my 3rd day of my new vegan lifestyle.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know…it’s not quite a lifestyle yet until it becomes habit.  However, I am loving it so far!  When I mentioned that I was switching to veganism to my sister who tried it once, she told me that it wasn’t too far off from how I have already been eating.  I’ve already been avoiding dairy (to an extent), not eating a bunch of red meat, and sneaking in veggies whenever I can, so to knock out all meat and dairy hasn’t been a huge stretch.  On the extreme plus side, I’ve been checking out some super fun new recipes!  In today’s food world, it’s pretty easy to be vegan.  There are vegan cheeses, yogurts, dairy, fake meat, etc.  You’re kind of already set up for success.  I’m really excited to see the long-term health benefits and to be honest, my conscience is pretty clear as well.  I’ve been reading up and watching videos on the cruel ways most livestock are treated, and not just for meat.  Dairy cows have a pretty heartbreaking life as well.  Don’t worry, I’m not going to post graphic videos of slaughterhouses or anything.  We’ve all seen them.  We all know how livestock are treated.  I just feel good knowing I’m doing my part for my body, my future children, my fellow animals, and the environment.  I’ll try not to soapbox much.

What I did want to share with ya’ll are two things!

  1. I made an absolutely yummy-tastic dinner last night for my husband and I (haha!  I sound like the Barefoot Contessa – “Geoffrey just loves it when I make my cherry tomato tart…”).  It’s a vegan Moroccan stew over a quinoa-brown rice blend and tofu-mushroom potstickers.  Fancy-schmancy, eh?  Well here are the recipe links!

Moroccan Stew

Tofu Mushroom Potstickers

Here’s the finished product from last night.  Professional food photographer I am                not.

52160485616__392E20F1-CB8C-4887-BDD5-FD694EFEA98F

 

2.  I am competing in the Tough Mudder Half this Saturday with my team!  We designed team t-shirts a couple nights ago and had some bonding.  We are staying at a condo up in Silverthorne for the weekend.  I’m pretty nervous, but excited!  As I’ve said before, I’ve never done any type of competitive running thing ever (honestly, not even a 5k), but I’m in the best shape of my life (for reals yo) and so why not?  What am I afraid of?  Am I afraid that I won’t be able to climb over the wall with my team, that I’m too heavy to be pulled over and will have to walk around?  Nope.  Maybe the old Jo was scared of that.  Am I afraid that I won’t be able to cross the monkey bars obstacle?  Nope.  I may not make it all the way across but I’ll be damned if I quit.  Am I afraid of other people making fun of me or staring at me thinking to themselves “Why is this fat chick doing this?”  Nope.  The old Jo would have thought this.  The new Jo is gonna crush this and get super muddy doing it!  I’ll post pics in the next blog from the Mudder.  Wish me luck, guys!

Also, if anyone reading this is toying with the idea of switching to a plant-based diet, leave a comment or get in touch with me another way so we can swap recipes and give each other support.

BONUS! Ben and Jerry’s has new non-dairy ice cream!  This is gonna be a part of my new weekly cheat meal!

B & J’s Non-Dairy Ice Creams!

And now, here are two 90-year-old tortoises humping.

19961121_10154497313756216_4434267153831496062_n

Till Next Time,

Jo

One thought on “Going Vegan – Hey Yoooo!

Leave a Reply

