Sum-sum-summertime!

So, whoops, I forgot to add a blog post for last weekend.  I’ll get better, ya’ll, I promise.  I did get a rad compliment from one of my coworkers on Friday (thanks, Nina) when she said she enjoys reading my blog to see the struggles that others face-and she likes my writin’ style!  It make me feel a lil warm inside, as this blog I’ve started isn’t for me to flaunt, but for me to share my “weight loss journey” (sounds super Oprah-y), help others see that there is no magic to becoming healthy, show others that the struggle is real, and to actually hold myself accountable.  If I bumped back up to 240 after all this work and blog-writing then I’d feel like a right idiot.

So anyways, summer has finally come upon us teachers in Denver Public Schools.  I have a little over 2 months off from wacky fidget-spinning middle school kids, what am I to do?

1) Earn some extra coin driving for Lyft.  I’m going to try to do my first ride tomorrow!  I’m pretty nervous actually, but I’ve got some Febreze and Werther’s Originals ready to go in the car to make my riders feel more comfortable.

2) Sit by the pool and read a ton!  I’m in the middle of Haruki Murakami’s “Kafka on the Shore” and just need some sun and reading music on Spotify to make this happen.

3) I’m getting my hair dyed today!  Dark brown with maroon-ish color on the bottom.  Fingers crossed I don’t look like I’m having a mid-life crisis!

4) My husband and I are hoping to take a vacation to Seychelles (pron. “say-shell”) in July.

5) Lose 10-15 pounds and tone up my inner thighs and belly for said vacation to Seychelles.

The last one is the one I’ll focus on for this blog, as this blog isn’t just about all the stuff I do-gotta have some focus.  So, as I’ve mentioned in my previous recent blogs, my weight loss has been stagnant.  Before I went to Toronto over Spring Break I weighed 175 lbs (yeeeehaw!), however, my weight has been hovering between 177-182 since then, despite the different attempts I’ve made to shake things up.  I’ve tried a week of smoothies for lunch, intermittent fasting (700-900 calories one day a week), and changing up my workout routine a bit, but nothing has really helped those numbers shift.  I’m building muscle of course, but I’ve still got a lot of excess fat and skin around my mid-section, the Oprah upper arm wings (yeah, you know what they are), and inner-thigh jiggle-jaggle.  Part of me thinks “I’ve been working on this stuff for almost 2 years!  When is this chub gonna get off me!”

Which brings me to my new venture!  I need to shake things up in my body again.  I’ve restarted taking Bodypump classes at 24-hour fitness.  I’ve been getting back into a 5-minute Tabata run on the treadmill.  I’ll be taking a 4-week Gladiator Group Fitness class at the end of June through July.  And I also purchased the Whole 30 book from Amazon which should be arriving at my apartment right abooooouuuut…well by tonight.

The biggest change with most likely the biggest benefit is going to be the Whole 30, I feel.  But I’m planning on augmenting it a bit for my lifestyle.  From what I know about this new healthy eating/weight loss fad is that for 30 days, you are to eat only protein, veggies, and up to 2 servings of fruit per day.  You eat no grains, no dairy, and no sugar.  Sound about right?  I can get over the no sugar no problem.  I don’t eat added sugars anyways.  The no dairy and no grains is going to be a bit trickier, though.  So I’ve got my Vegetti (veggie spiralizer) ready to take on the world!  My plan is to get this party started on Monday (I’ve got some reading to do tonight in that case).  I’ll plan to eat Whole 30 six and 2/3 days a week.  The other 1/3 will be my weekly cheat meal still, because it’s summer and I may need a frosty brew or some ice cream.  So, it will be similar to what I’ve already been doing with healthy eating, but more regimented and structured, which I think is what I’m needing right about now.

Expect my next blog to be filled with fun veggie recipes or “Whole 30 is a buncha hipster BS!” post.  If any of you reading this have some insight, helpful tips, stories to share, etc., please leave me a comment.  Internet high-five to you all!  (Slow jogs out of the room to “Life Is a Highway”.)

 

2 thoughts on “Sum-sum-summertime!

  1. Judy

    Good luck with whole 30 thing. Maybe it is just what you need to jump start your weight loss again. You look great by the way. Enjoy your summer.

    Like

  2. Erin

    Whole30 is great! I’ve done it twice and it’s suuuuper hard but if you can stick to it completely for the consecutive 30 days, you won’t regret it. The trick is just planning so you always have whole30 approved meals and snacks ready to go so you’re not tempted to cheat. THe hardest part for me hands down was no alcohol. But you can do anything for 30 days and then you can celebrate with drinks when you’re on vacation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

