TRX TIIIIIIME!

I’ve been a member of 24-hour fitness since November 2014.  However, I only started really using it since August of 2015.  When I first started going to the gym, I wasn’t quite sure what it was I should be working on.  I knew that I needed a mix of cardio and strength-training.  I had tried the Body for Life routine years ago and liked the free weight exercises, so I decided to start there.

The 24-hour fitness that I go to near my home is quite busy, but has a mix of retirees, young professionals, meatheads, and families.  There is the huge cardio section, a group fitness class studio, a cycling studio, a pool/hot tub, the weight machine section, and the super massive free weights section.  When I first started going, it was one intimidating place to be.  I was hesitant to try out new things in the gym out of fear that others would look at me like I was an idiot or that they would think “Why is she even here?  She’s too fat to be working out on this stuff.  It’s obviously not working for her.”  For reals yo, that was my internal monologue early on.

I had been going to the gym about 3 times per week from August until November 2015.  My workouts consisted of me spending about 15 minutes on the recumbent bike, 5-10 minutes on the elliptical (that machine would wipe me out), and then maybe 15-20 with free weight dumbbells working mostly on my arms or on some of the arm machines in the weight machine section.  In early November, I was approached by one of the personal trainers at the gym.  She offered me a free hour-long personal training session (in hopes that I’d sign up for more).  This free session gave me a ton of insight into how I should actually structure my workouts.  It gave me a set weekly guideline to make my time spent at the gym more meaningful and results-driven.  The personal trainer told me that I should go to the gym 5 times a week if I wanted to see some real progress with my weight loss.  She also informed me that I should do strength training 3-4 days a week.  One day, I should focus on arms, another on legs, and the other days on whole-body strength training.

She also introduced me to the awesome fun-ness that is the TRX!  I am in love with this friggin’ thing!  You may have seen this contraption at the gym with it’s black and yellow straps.  It uses your own body weight as the weight resistance.  There are tons of different exercises you can do on this thing.  I have my go-to ones that I use every week, but am discovering new exercises on this all the time.  There are also loads of videos on youtube that walk you through some of the exercises.  I’ve been using TRX at least twice a week for my strength-training, and I feel it has been essential in my progress.  Not only can you target specific muscle groups, but every exercise forces you to use your core for balance.  I used to use those bulky weight machines for strength-training, but since using the TRX, I have realized that these machines only target a specific muscle group, while often the rest of your body is static.  The TRX is more of a whole-body exercise with areas that you can target.  It’s also easy to adjust the intensity of your workout.  You can adjust your incline or the amount of weight you want as resistance simply by making a few adjustments to your stance or angle.  Honestly, I can’t say enough about these radical ropes!  Below are some video links of some of my go-to TRX exercises as well as some recent pics of my growing muscles.  If you have a gym you attend and haven’t yet tried TRX, watch some of these videos and give it a try.  Take some of that intimidation and mold it into an “I’m gonna show you!” attitude at your gym.  I used to feel like I didn’t belong at the gym, now I kind of feel like a gym rat.  I feel strong and confident.

Whole Body pic.JPG

Close-up.JPG

Side.JPG

TRX Upper Body Exercises

TRX Lower Body Exercises

TRX Core Exercises

One thought on “TRX TIIIIIIME!

  1. Taniya

    Intimidation in the gym is a real problem for us beginners. I am trying to turn it into ‘Kudos to me for doing I find intimidating. Everyone has got to start somewhere. This is me starting’

    Like

Leave a Reply

