Man, This Is Tough!

So I just got back from a 6-day trip to Toronto to see a gaggle of my friends from when I was living in Korea.  It was a wonderful trip, filled with Korean BBQ, drinking soju shots, dancing and sing-alongs, games over brunch, radical ramen, Book of Mormon, and reliving old memories.  I didn’t worry about my eating or drinking habits during this time.  I did bring a few healthy snacks with me, though.  And I did go to the hotel gym twice.  I even walked 25000 steps (over 10 miles) in one day!  I didn’t weigh myself the entire time I was there.

Toronto.jpg

Korean Dinner.jpgI did, however, weigh myself before I left and after I came back to Denver.  Before I left for Toronto, I weighed in at just under 176, which I was ecstatic about!  When I got home to my apartment in Denver on Wednesday evening, I weighed myself again, and I was at 191!  WHAT THE HELL, BODY???!!!  I didn’t gorge myself, but I did sample some of Toronto’s finest.  I had dessert a couple times and ate out for practically every meal.  I also drank alcohol in excess 3 nights in a row.  But, is that enough to gain 15 pounds in 6 days?  I pretty much ate the way I ate when I was living in Korea.  Did my body just want to get back to that weight so badly?

This whole healthy-eating stuff is hard; it’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  It has, however, made other parts of my life more manageable.  If I can do this, then I can pretty much do anything.  I’ll admit, I was super bummed yesterday, all that hard work wasted on 6 days of fun.  My husband kept reassuring me that it was water retention or something of that sort.  He may have a point, as my weight today (1.5 days after coming back to Denver) is 185.  Hopefully within the next week or two I can get back to 175 and then start losing again to achieve my 150 goal.

On the plus side, I know exactly what I need to do to get my weight down.  It’s not a mystery.  I think I’ll have to continue to eat at 1600 calories for the rest of my life.  Once you go healthy, you can’t go back…or it all piles back on, but this time more quickly and sometimes even more weight than before.  But I wouldn’t change my choices.  I had a blast in Toronto, dammit!  I also love the way I feel about myself and the confidence I have knowing that I have lost 65 pounds and I’m determined to lose more!  This was one of the many bumps I’ve had on my weight-loss/healthy-living journey, and I sure as hell am not gonna let it bring me down.  Thanks, Matthew Wilder!

Watch if you need a lil more awesomely bad music in your life!

3 thoughts on “Man, This Is Tough!

  1. Alushia Fitzgerald

    Hi Jo,

    First you are a rock star and I am loving your blog. I did just want to tell you that you that I agree with your husband that you really shouldn’t weigh yourself after you fly bc it’s not accurate due to elevation changes and your body acclimating (this is what was told to me when I was training) a more accurate weight would be given at least two days after you land.

    Also there is a great documentary that HBO has on the human body and weight loss/gain that really opened my eyes and I think might be something you’d be interested in it’s called The Quest to Understand the Biology of Weight Loss.

    Lots of love,
    Lush

    Like

    1. seejogogo

      Thanks, Lush! That’s a relief. Geez, the human body is so weird. I’m totally gonna watch this documentary today-THANKS! I love love love watching documentaries about health. We missed you at our reunion in Toronto this week!

      Like

  2. Judy

    I am impressed at your ability to enjoy yourself, and then know when the vacation is over it’s back to reality. I think your weight gain also shows how sugars and processed foods cause the inflammation that turns into weight gain. Keep inspiring me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

