Trader Joe’s is Deceptive and Kinda Racist

So Saturday evening I decided to take a wee trip over to Trader Joe’s because I hadn’t been there in a while and wanted to see ifI could find any fun stuff to cook for dinner.  I spent about 45 minutes in the store and walked out with some applesauce, Rx bars, and some raw cashews (yes, I PAID).  I found very little of actual healthy food there to buy, but they had a nice selection of flowers.

So, yeah, Trader Joe’s is deceptive.  I scoured that store looking for something healthy for dinner.  A salad?  Nope, 450 calories and a bunch of sugar, preservatives, and a laundry list of ingredients.  Some curry-marinated raw chicken tenders?  Nope, another laundry list of ingredients I can’t pronounce.  Some butternut squash or tomato soup?  Again, nope.  Around 95% of the packaged food there has added sugars, preservatives, and pretty lengthy ingredient lists.  When you think about it, it’s pretty messed up.  People rely on Trader Joe’s for healthy foods.  The Hawaiian shirt-clad cashiers and reps are welcoming and want you to talk yourself into buying those vanilla wafers, cookie butter, and mandarin orange chicken frozen meals because hey, it’s Trader Joe’s, it’s gotta be healthy for you!  Totally wrong.  A cookie is still a cookie, no matter where you buy it.  That strawberry lemonade may not have as much crap in it as the cartoned Minute Maid at King Soopers, but it still has crap in it.  Just because you find a ginger snap that has “evaporated cane juice” instead of “sugar” on the label, doesn’t mean it is “health food”.  As my dad says, “You can put lipstick on a pig, but it’s still a pig.”  That right?  Just because you bought it at Trader Joe’s doesn’t mean it’s cool to eat the crap out of it.

Sure, I’ll occasionally buy some pre-packaged stuff from the grocery store, but when I do, I make sure to really look over the ingredients list.  If I can’t pronounce something on it or it has a form of sugar (look for the words syrup, juice, or anything that ends in -dextrin or -ose), I generally avoid it.  I try to find things with very minimal ingredients.  For these reasons, I’ve opted into buying Rx Bars (“I like the blueberry ones best.”  MST3K, anyone?  …anyone?) Brazil Bites, or certain Amy’s organics products.  Even when buying these, I read the labels and make sure the ingredients come from nature and not a lab.

Oh!  Oh!  Oh!  Have you also noticed how kinda racist Trader Joe’s can be with their labeling?

Trader Jose?  At least they put the accent over the ‘e’, unlike myself.

Screen Shot 2017-02-13 at 2.46.42 PM.png

Trader Ming?  Pad Thai is a Thai Food!  Ming isn’t a Thai name; but hey, all Asian’s are the same, yeah?

Screen Shot 2017-02-13 at 2.47.12 PM.png

Trader Jacque?  Not quite sure how butter cookies are identified as French…

Screen Shot 2017-02-13 at 2.47.33 PM.png

Trader Giotto?  Yeah, that just looks gross.  Way to go, Giotto.

Screen Shot 2017-02-13 at 2.47.46 PM.png

This is pretty ridiculous.  Just sayin…

2 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s is Deceptive and Kinda Racist

Leave a Reply

