Back to the Grind

Anybody else remember that MTV dance/workout show called “The Grind”?  Yeah, I wish I was going back to this.  Alas, I’m back from my belated honeymoon in Kauai and on to work again.  I’ll keep the details of the vacation short so that I can focus more on the nutrition and fitness aspects.

We stayed at two different resorts, rented two different convertibles (Camaro and Mustang), and traveled all over the island.  For one whole day, my husband and I went on an excursion that entailed an hour-and-a-half of kayaking, a bit of hiking in the jungle, two ziplines (yes, I overcame my crazy fear of heights), a fun tractor ride through a ranch, a rope swing into a jungle lagoon, and a 20-ft. high dive into another lagoon.  This was by far the highlight of the trip as we got to do a lil bit of everything.  We also went on a sunset cruise, ate some mediocre restaurant food, ate at some good foodtrucks, chased some wild roosters, relaxed at the pool, and explored some beaches.  All in all, it was a very successful trip.

On to the nutrition end of things.  The snacks we brought along came in very handy as they really helped us avoid just snacking on whatever junk was available.  We ate in the resort restaurant for only one out of the six breakfasts.  The remainder of the breakfasts, we ate puffed kamut and when that ran out Crispix (we scoured the local grocery stores, and this was the healthiest cereal option next to bland shredded wheat) with whole milk.  This A) saved us money on a meal, and B) limited the temptations for pancakes.  For the other meals, we went out to a few restaurants, most of which were disappointing, and local foodtrucks.  Yup, I splurged one meal in particular, where I got a scoop of local ice cream, a “Hawaiian Grilled Cheese” of kahlua pork, pineapple, and gouda on sourdough, and kettle potato chips.  It was delicious, but I did feel a little guilty later.  The other meals, I strayed from my healthy eating plan slightly.  I did eat a few extra sweets and desserts on the trip.  I used to never crave sweets, but now I can’t get enough of them.  Whatever – I knew that I wasn’t going to eat totally healthy on this trip.  I cut some corners where I could.  We had healthy snacks in our hotel (rice cakes, bananas, walnuts) that we bought from local grocery stores.  Because my body is so used to functioning now on 1600 calories a day at home, I think my body was really loving/hating me on this trip.  When I got back to Denver, I stepped on the scale and my weight had shot back up from 183 to 188 lbs.  I had regained 5 pounds.  Yes, this could just be water retention.  No, I’m not super happy about it, but it is what it is.  I refused to bring myself down about it.  My plan is to jump back in to tracking my calories using the MyFitnessPal app, drinking my new matcha iced tea (recipe to follow), and surrounding myself with good wholesome homemade food.  My husband and I both agreed that this weekend we would eat at home.  On the “One Point for Jo Doing Something Awesome”, I wore my bikinis in public!  I wore them at the resort pools, at the beach, and on our outdoorsy excursion!  I was super nervous at first, but I got over it.

Now let’s talk about the fitness end of things.  I started out the trip doing super well!  Our first resort had a nice gym, with free weights, working cardio equipment, and medicine balls.  I also brought my jumprope along for the extra cardio bursts.  I worked out at this gym for the first two mornings for an hour each.  The next day, we went on our outdoorsy excursion, so I counted that as a workout day.  I then took a rest day.  The following day, we went to our new resort and the fitness center there had a couple broken cardio machines and old rusty dumbbells and plates.  We didn’t use this gym.  Instead, I got a tad lazy.  However, we did walk around a lot!

So I’m back in Denver now and am getting back to the gym tomorrow morning.  Today, I was exhausted so am staying in.  I am determined to get these 5 pounds back off ASAP.  I made some yummy chicken meatballs and used my Vegetti to make zucchini spaghetti (another recipe to follow).  The vacation was super radical, but I’m ready to get back into taking care of myself.

 

Leave a Reply

