Packing Up

I’m in the process of packing up for my trip to Hawaii.  We are bringing a bunch of healthy snacks so that we are less tempted to munch on garbage when we’re there.  Mind you, I’m still planning on eating some radical meals and having umbrella drinks when I’m there.

So yesterday I made my “Jo-Jo’s Olly Olly Oatmeal Fun Cookies” and tonight I made my “Cheap Date Apple Muffins”, haha, get it?  I also packed up some boiled organic chestnuts, macadamia nuts, walnuts, whole wheat matzos, puffed kamut cereal, some RX Bars, protein powder, and 3 small bottles of flavored vodka I got from my Secret Santa at work.  It’s quite a bit of snacks, but I’m super prepared for whatever comes at me during this trip and I don’t want to be forced to snack on Slim Jim’s and potato chips when I know I don’t need them.  If I’m going to eat some unhealthy food in Hawaii, it had better be some gourmet awesomeness!

 

 

img_0774-1

 

The “Cheap Date Apple Muffins” are sooo darned good.  The recipe is down below.  It’s not my recipe, as I borrowed it from iFOODreal.  I add in walnuts for a lil extra healthy fats and protein.  I also eliminate the cinnamon and sugar topping because it is soooo not needed.  You might think that it’s lacking in sweetness because there’s no sugar, but the dates and applesauce sweeten it a bit and the spices are what really make this muffin.  I used to purchase Medjool dates from Whole Foods and Sprouts, but I recently discovered packaged date paste at a Mediterranean grocery store near my apartment and it has made life so much easier.  I suggest either finding some online, scouting out your ethnic grocery stores, or just making a big batch of date paste and keeping it in your fridge.

I love zapping one of these muffins in the microwave for 30 seconds and eating it with a small glass of Whole Milk (rBGH and rBST-free).  Heck, they’re even tasty out of the fridge cold.

“Cheap Date Apple Muffins”

Wet Ingredients:

    • 1 cup applesauce, unsweetened
    • 8 pitted Medjool dates or 1/2 cup date paste
    • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
    • 2 large eggs
    • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
Dry Ingredients:
    • 2 cups whole wheat flour 
    • 2 tsp baking powder
    • 1 tsp baking soda
    • 1 tsp allspice
    • 1 tsp cinnamon
    • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
    • 1/2 tsp cloves
    • 1/2 tsp salt
For the Muffins:
    • 1 + 1/2 cup sweet apples, cored & finely chopped with skin on
    • 1/2 cup walnuts
    • cooking spray 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray non-stick muffin tin with cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. In a food processor or powerful blender, add Wet Ingredients and process until smooth. Mainly look for all dates to be processed. If using whole dates, it may be a good idea to soak them in hot water before blending to make them a bit easier to deal with.  Once fully blended, set aside Wet Ingredients.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, whisk to combine Dry Ingredients. Add Wet Ingredients from the blender into the bowl and gently mix just enough to combine. Do not over mix otherwise muffins won’t rise properly. Add chopped apples and walnuts and give a few gentle stirs.
  4. Fill each tin 3/4 full with batter and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean. Let muffins cool for about 30 minutes and transfer to a cooling rack to cool off completely.

Leave a Reply

