Hawaii in a DAY!

My husband and I got married back in November of 2015.  We were unable to take our honeymoon right after we got married so we waited until the following summer.  The plan was to go to Belize in June 2016.  Long story short, we ended up having to cancel our trip last minute.  So this is honeymoon attempt number two coming up.  We are going to Kauai, Hawaii tomorrow and will be there for 6 days!  Neither of us have ever been and are both so excited!

In preparation, I bought not one, but two new swimsuits.  They are both bikinis, but have cool 1950s vibes to them and are less revealing.  I’m nervous to wear them out, but I’m gonna do it.  I’ve never owned a bikini before.  Growing up, I was always the kid who would wear a t-shirt in the pool.  Before my weight loss, I opted into not revealing my thighs as well, by wearing board shorts in the water.  But I’ve worked too hard to hide myself away anymore.

I had a goal weight of 180 lbs. to get to before my trip.  I thought I almost had it, but I lost it through the stupid holidays and screwed up.  I was at 181.2 lbs on 12/23; my goal was in my sights.  Then I fell victim to all the Christmas-ness goodness.  I had 3 nights in a row where I drank 2+ glasses of wine or beer, 3 nights in a row of not eating a healthy meal, and I snuck in a couple sweets during this time as well.  It sounds like I didn’t go overboard, but my body was pissed off after this, so pissed off that it decided to lay on another 2 pounds on me.  See this is the thing nobody tells you about weight loss, if you veer off-track even just a little bit, your body is all “Whoooooaaa there, Miss I-Have-to-Go-Put-On-My-Eating-Dress-Because-I’m-About-to-Inhale-Everything-In-Front-of-Me!  You’re freaking us out with all this excess!  We’d better slather on the pounds again!”  In short, it really sucks.  My body is now so used to eating healthy food, that now when I mess up for a day or two, my body reacts faster than it did when I was a deuce-and-a-half.  Does this mean I’m just going to throw in the towel and give up?  Hell no.  Does this mean that this is going to happen for the rest of my life?  Yeah, probably.  Am I able to control what my body does?  Heck yeah I am!

Yesterday and today I’ve been baking up some healthy snacks to bring on our trip to Hawaii.  I’m not planning on eating healthy the whole time I’m there and I’m for sure gonna have some drinks to excess.  But I’m also planning on doing a lot of outdoor activities like hiking, swimming, snorkeling, exploring, etc.  As long as I don’t go overboard (no pun intended), and I know I won’t, because I won’t let myself, I’ve come too far, I can continue my healthy living even while on vacation and be ready to hit the gym when I come back with a smoothie in one hand and a quarter-cup of raw walnuts in the other.

I baked some healthy cookies last night to bring in our suitcase so we have something healthy to snack on during our travels.  I call them “Jo-Jo’s Olly Olly Oatmeal Fun Cookies”.  I’ll be posting more and more recipes on this site as time goes on and I promise to name each food something fun, because “Banana-Almond Butter-Rolled Oats Cookies” doesn’t have that sense of fun and whimsy.  It also sounds less health-foodish and more enjoyable to give your food fun names.  These cookies are full of all healthy yummy goodness.  Here are a few quick tips.  Super ripened bananas will make the cookies a little sweeter.  Use rolled oats and not quick oats as quick oats are more processed and have a higher glycemic index (GI) than rolled oats.  Hey, what’s that mean?  Well, it means that foods with lower glycemic indexes will not cause your blood sugar to spike.  DO NOT use almond butter, or any nut butter for that matter, that has added sugar or salt.  You don’t need it.  Your body will get used to the natural goodness of plain nuts ground up.  The recipe is as follows:

Jo-Jo’s Olly Olly Oatmeal Fun Cookies

img_0771

                    2 cups rolled oats

                     1 cup mashed ripe bananas (2-3 bananas depending on the size)

                     1 cup natural creamy almond butter (no salt or sugar added)

                     1 teaspoon organic vanilla extract

                     1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

                     1/2 teaspoon allspice

                     1/4 teaspoon salt

                     1/4 teaspoon baking powder

                     1 tablespoon melted organic coconut oil

                     ***optional 1/2 cup raisins

                     ***optional 1/4 cup raw cacao powder

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mash bananas in a large mixing bowl until creamy and lump-free.
  3. Add almond butter, vanilla, cinnamon, allspice, salt, baking powder, melted coconut oil, and cacao powder (if desired) and mash together with bananas until a thick creamy past is made.
  4. Add in rolled oats and raisins (if desired) and stir with a wooden spoon to combine.  If the mixture is too creamy still, just add more rolled oats.  Adding too many oats will make these cookies dry so be careful.
  5. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Use a spoon to plop down 1-2″ balls on baking sheet.  Flatten dough with hands to create a cookie shape.  These cookies will not flatten themselves out as they cook, so you need to do it.
  6. Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes.  Your whole house will start smelling like cinnamon and allspice!

 

Super easy cookies!  Tonight I’m planning on baking some no-sugar added Apple Cinnamon Muffins to take on our trip.  My husband requested these.  They are moist and delicious and are sweetened with date paste and applesauce!  As you can see, I have quite a sweet tooth, so it was very important for me to find healthy recipes for sweet foods.  I hope you give these cookies a try.  Again, anything to excess is not good for you, so don’t go overboard.  Be on the lookout for my muffin recipe, and I’ll be sure to think of a fun name for them as well.

 

Leave a Reply

